

Making Waves Since 1986 www.savetheharbor.org

212 Northern Avenue - Suite 304 West - Boston, MA 02210 Telephone: 617-451-2860

Save the Harbor/Save the Bay Boston Harbor Heroes

2024 Heroes

The Honorable Aaron M. Michlewitz *Chair, Joint Committee on Ways & Means*

Rhea Nannan, Janice Parlon, Mary McCarthy, and Joe Rotondo Department of Conservation and Recreation

> Ann and Chuck Lagasse Ocean Havens

Jill Valdés Horwood Barr Foundation Director, Boston Waterfront Initiative

A.a.Ron Myers and Ed Word Galan A Trike Called Funk

Jaylen Gómez Save the Harbor Youth Staff

2023 Heroes

Senator Brendan Crighton, Third Essex Co-Chair, Metropolitan Beaches Commission

Rep. Adrian Madaro, First Suffolk Co-Chair, Metropolitan Beaches Commission

The Freddura Family The Daily Catch and Calamari Fisheries

Mswati Hanks

Charlestown Coalition - Turn it Around

Arthur Pearson Thompson Island Outward Bound Education Center

Maria Vasco *Uvida Shop*

Laura Cuddihy & Jon Ferris Boston Consulting Group

2022 Heroes

Massachusetts Water Resources Authority COVID Testing Team Led by Steve Rhode, Dr. Mariana Matus, Newsha Ghaeli

> Maureen Mazrimas Friends of Wollaston Beach

Nicole McClain Northshore Juneteenth Association

Bryan Koop Boston Properties, Atlantic Wharf

Trevor Etheridge 1992-2022 Save the Harbor/Save the Bay Development Manager

Ruben Hernandez Save the Harbor/Save the Bay Youth Environmental Education Staff 2020-2022

2021 Heroes

Mark Chrisos Con Edison Clean Building Energy Businesses Save the Harbor Board of Directors, 2010-2021

> Jon Cronin The Cronin Group

Lisa Fortenberry Camp Harbor View

Joseph P. Newman National Grid (Ret.), Save the Harbor Board Chair, 2009-2020 Shavel'le Olivier Mattapan Food and Fitness Coalition

Judith Pederson, PhD MIT Sea Grant College Program Save the Harbor Board of Directors, 1996-2021

Albert Deblas, Fatima Fontes, and Aleena Mangham Save the Harbor Youth Environmental Education Program Staff, 2019-2021

2020 Heroes

Lisa Wieland, Chief Executive Officer, Massachusetts Port Authority

Donnie Todd, Airport Operations Supervisor/Corporate Social Responsibility Liaison, JetBlue Airways

> Jay and Kerry Spence, General Manager & President, Massachusetts Bay Lines

> > Christian R. Scorzoni, Esq., Travaglini, Eisenberg, & Kiley, LLC

Patrice Haney, Michael Dello Russo, and Qalid Hassan Save the Harbor/Save the Bay Youth Environmental Education Program Staff

East Boston Community Partners: Presented by City Councilor Lydia Edwards BCYF Martin Pino & BCYF Paris Street East Boston Neighborhood Health Center East Boston YMCA Friends of Belle Isle Marsh Harborkeepers Neighborhood of Affordable Housing Piers Park Sailing Center Salesian Boys and Girls Club of East Boston

2019 Heroes

Mayor Martin Walsh

Tom Crohan , AVP & Counsel for Corporate Responsibility & Government Relations, John Hancock

Kathy Lafferty,

Executive Director, South Boston Neighborhood House

Allen Huang and Veera Mahadomrongkul, Ohana New England Dragon Boat Team

Shelagh Mahoney, CEO of Eastern Salt Company, Inc.

David Spillane, AICP, RIBA. President Principal, Goody Clancy

John Sullivan, Chief Engineer, Boston Water & Sewer Commission

Sam Bowman, Maeve Fittz, Kharliyah Ortiz, Save the Harbor/Save the Bay Youth Environmental Education Program Staff

2018 Heroes

The Honorable Matthew A. Beaton Executive Office of Energy and Environmental Affairs

Jeffrey Bellows, Vice President of Corporate Citizenship Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts

Kristen J. McCormack, William E. Schrafft & Bertha E. Schrafft Charitable Trust

Maxwilliams Iwuala, Save the Harbor/Save the Bay 2017 Senior Harbor Educator

James Jensen, General Manager, Blues Hill Bank Pavilion/LiveNation Save the Harbor/Save the Bay Board Member

> Dusty Rhodes, President, Conventures Inc. Executive Director, Sail Boston

Michael Tyrrell and The South Bay Harbor Trail Coalition

Beverly Wing, The Chinatown Coalition Boston Chinatown Neighborhood Center Advisory Board

2017 Heroes

Austin Blackmon

Chief of Environment, Energy, and Open Space, City of Boston

Congressman William D. Delahunt Retired U.S. House of Representatives

Thomas P. Glynn Chief Executive Officer, Massachusetts Port Authority

Thomas A. Kershaw Save the Harbor/Save the Bay Board Member Chairman & CEO, Hampshire House Corporation

> Andrea Lopes 2016 Lead Boston Harbor Explorer

Sharon McNally President, Camp Harbor View Foundation

James O'S. Morton President and CEO, YMCA of Greater Boston

Joseph P. Savage Board Member Past Chair, Save the Harbor/Save the Bay

Metropolitan Beaches Commissioner Barbara Bishop And all of the friends of Winthrop's Beaches

2016 Heroes

Laura Burke Hilton Luxury Brands

Captain Claudia C. Gelzer, USCG Commander – Sector Boston

Michael Glasfeld and Julie Pagano Bay State Cruise Company

> David Lee Stull and Lee

Manuel Lopes East Boston Neighborhood Health Center Mark Rose 2015 Lead Boston Harbor Explorer

Rep. RoseLee Vincent 16th Suffolk, Co-Chair Metropolitan Beaches Commission

2015 Heroes

Robert A. DeLeo Speaker - Massachusetts House of Representatives

The Boston Centers for Youth and Families Chris Byner and Fred Ahern

The Coca-Cola Company Donna Cirolia and Jennifer Cruickshank

Paul D. Foster Save the Harbor/Save the Bay Board Member

> Ahmed Hassan 2014 Lead Boston Harbor Explorer

> > Daniel C. Kenary Harpoon Brewery

Charlayne Murrell-Smith Boston Children's Museum

Theodore A. Oatis 1947-2014 The Chiofaro Company

2014 Heroes

State Senator Thomas J. McGee – Lynn Co-Chair – Metropolitan Beaches Commission

> Andy Gonzalez Junior Program Assistant

Susan Hart Woods Vice President, Save the Harbor/Save the Bay

Rick McKenna

Vice Chair, Save the Harbor/Save the Bay

Joan Meschino Hull Resident – Metropolitan Beaches Commissioner

> Hubie Jones Boston Children's Chorus

2013 Heroes

Carol Churchill Distrigas/GDF SUEZ

Karrisha Gillespie Junior Program Assistant

Carol Haney Revere Resident – Metropolitan Beaches Commissioner

State Senator Jack Hart - South Boston Co-Chair – Metropolitan Beaches Commission

Timothy Kirwan General Manager – InterContinental Hotel

Dr. Andrea Rex Senior Scientist – Massachusetts Water Resources Authority

2012 Heroes

Lowell Richards 1947-2012 Massachusetts Port Authority

Charles Monroe Haar 1920-2012 Harvard Law School

> Harold Sparrow YMCA of Greater Boston

> > Ronda Ivy McLeod JetBlue AirWays

Will Clark Lead Boston Harbor Explorer

2011 Heroes

Judge A. David Mazzone 1928-2004 United States District Court

Congressman Joe Moakley 1927-2001

Governor Deval Patrick

Mayor Thomas M. Menino

Jack Connors, Sr. Founder, Camp Harbor View

Paul S. Grogan President & CEO – The Boston Foundation

Amos Hostetter Chairman - Pilot House Associates

Frederick A. Laskey Executive Director - Massachusetts Water Resources Authority

> Beth Nicholson Founder – Save the Harbor/Save the Bay

State Senator Anthony Petruccelli – East Boston Metropolitan Beaches Commissioner

Claudia Smith Reid Former Save the Harbor/Save the Bay Board Member

Rep. Kathi-Anne Reinstein – Revere Co-Chair – Metropolitan Beaches Commission

> George A. Russell, Jr. President – State Street Foundation

EEA Secretary Richard K. Sullivan Jr.

William O. Taylor 1932-2011 Publisher Emeritus - The Boston Globe

> Thi Tran Junior Program Assistant

Kyle B. Warwick Chair – Save the Harbor/Save the Bay